When I speak to groups, one of the first questions I get is regarding privacy. I advise people, “If you aren’t comfortable sharing the information/photos/videos, then don’t!” No one is forcing you to share your personal life with the world. On the other side of the coin, however, people have the ability to upload their own photos of you and tag you in them (def: tagging links the person, place or Page to your post/link/photo/video), or create groups and pages with your name. (Note: This can be especially tricky if you have a common name). If you are tagged you will be notified via notifications and have the capability to review all tags before they appear on your timeline.
Now, remember that everything you share and upload to Facebook is there forever – even if you delete it. If someone has the direct link to the photo/video/group then they will be able to access it, even IF you have deleted it off your timeline/personal profile. Sometimes, the information has simply been archived and is easily accessible via Google.
This reminds me of a funny story that emphasizes my point. A year ago I received a distressed email from my old university roommate. This individual, who shall remain nameless, is an intelligent woman who works in a professional setting. She stated in her email that when anyone Googles her name, the first result is her name affiliated with her employer. The second, however, is a Facebook group that myself and another roommate started for her while in university as a joke some five years ago. A joke then – yes. A joke now – not so much! Over the next three days, we research how to delete groups and learned that to delete a group, all the members need to be deleted. Now when you Google her name, the only results are her employer and personal fundraising efforts (thank goodness!).
Moral of the story: be careful of what you create (groups & pages) and what you upload (photos, videos, links) to Facebook. Even if you think it’s gone, that may not be the